Gwinnett Chamber Celebrates 67th Annual Dinner Honoring Community, Business and State Leaders

Annual Awards Gala Honored Local Pacesetters and Involved Citizens

Gwinnett County (METRO ATLANTA) GA – February 6 – The Gwinnett Chamber celebrated the successes of 2014 and the successes to come in 2015 Friday evening in front of a crowd of nearly 1,000 business and community leaders from across Gwinnett and metro Atlanta at the 67th Annual Dinner, Presented by Gwinnett Medical Center.

The Chamber’s Annual Dinner is a celebration of Gwinnett and a time to recognize the people who have contributed to the many successes of our great community,” said Randy Dellinger, District Manager of Jackson EMC and the 2015 Gwinnett Chamber Board Chair. “Through vision and service these esteemed leaders have played an integral part in Gwinnett’s growth and achievements, and I am honored to pay tribute to them at this celebration.”

After taking a walk down the Gwinnett Daily Post Red Carpet during the cocktail hour, guests were welcomed into the Thomas P. Hughes Grand Ballroom at Gwinnett Center in Duluth for dinner and awards. The evening featured a speech from honored guest, Lieutenant Governor Casey Cagle. In addition to a review of the Chamber’s 2014 accolades and community accomplishments, the evening celebrated the notable achievements of the following honorees:

Richard B. Chandler, Chandler, Britt, & Jay, LLC, is the recipient of the Citizen of the Year Award, which honors individuals whose services have had the greatest impact on the overall quality of life for Gwinnett County in recent years.

Public Service Awards are given to individuals who, over the years, have gone above and beyond in their service to the community and its residents. This year’s honorees included: Shiv Aggarwal, American Management Services, Inc.; Chuck Button, Jacobs Engineering Group; Carole Boyce, Gwinnett County Board of Education, District 1 Representative; Dr. Leslie Leigh, Gwinnett Medical Center-NICU; Karen Fine Saltiel, Primerica; and Charles M. Walters, Gwinnett County Chief of Police (ret.). The R. Wayne Shackelford Legacy Award, honoring the memory and legacy of an individual who has made a difference in the history and progress of Gwinnett County, was awarded posthumously to Jim Cowart, Jim Cowart, Inc.
Good Samaritan Health Center of Gwinnett received the D. Scott Hudgens Humanitarian Award given in honor of Scott Hudgens, a respected developer and philanthropist who unselfishly gave of his time and talents to ensure that many others, especially those with limited means, would benefit from his treasure.

In addition, Johnny Phelps, Harry Norman Realtors, received the 2014 Ambassador of the Year Award for his outstanding commitment, dedication and service to the Gwinnett Chamber. Phelps previously won the award in 2011, making him the first two-time winner in Chamber history.

The James J. Maran International Award, recognizing an international company that has chosen to locate in Gwinnett, taking advantage of Gwinnett’s pro-business mindset, and become an active member of the Chamber and the local community, went to Nidec Elesys Americas.

“The significance of the Annual Dinner is grounded in the event’s recognition of Gwinnett’s most visionary leaders,” said Gwinnett Chamber President & CEO Dr. Dan Kaufman. “The Annual Dinner showcases the collaborative work of our leaders throughout the region which, in turn, comes back to benefit Gwinnett County.”

For more information about the Annual Dinner, contact Alicia Krogh at 770-232-8809 or

View pictures from the 67th Annual Dinner.