2022 Primary Election Results for Gwinnett

2022 Primary Election Results for Gwinnett

The 2022 Primary Election was on Tuesday, May 24. Over 860,000 voters cast their vote during the advanced voting period, more than 2.5 times the turnout in any early voting period in Georgia election history. In total, about two million voters casted their ballot in the 2022 Georgia Primary. Click here to view the election results for Gwinnett.

United States Congress

Gwinnett will have new representation in Congress with Congresswoman Lucy McBath securing the democratic nominee over incumbent District 7 Congresswoman Carolyn Bourdeaux. McBath will face the winner of Michael Corbin and Mark Gonsalves in November. Also, due to redistricting, Gwinnett will lose Congressional Districts 4 (currently represented by Congressman Hank Johnson) and 10 (currently represented by Congressman Jody Hice) while gaining portions of Congressional Districts 6 and 9. Jake Evans and Dr. Rich McCormick are headed to a runoff for the Republican nominee for District 6 while Bob Christian won the democratic nomination. District 9 incumbent Congressman Andrew Clyde won and will face Democratic challenger Michael Ford in November.

Georgia General Assembly (Gwinnett Delegation)

The Legislative Delegation in Gwinnett will see an increase in representation down at the Gold Dome from 25 members to 30 members due to population growth and redistricting. The 30-member delegation, made up of state representatives and state senators, represents almost 13% of the general assembly and will give Gwinnett a strong pull during each legislative session. Two pairs of incumbents faced off in the primary. In House District 100, Representative David Clark won against House Majority Caucus Chair Bonnie Rich. In House District 106, Representative Shelly Hutchinson won against Representative Rebecca Mitchell.

Local Government (Gwinnett)

In Gwinnett, District 2 Commissioner Ben Ku won his primary against challenger, Jahangir Hossain. District 4 Commissioner Marlene Fosque won her primary unopposed. Matthew Holtkamp ran unopposed in the Republican primary for District 4.

In the Solicitor General race, challenger Lisamarie Bristol ousted incumbent Brian Whiteside. As there is no Republican candidate for Gwinnett Solicitor General, Bristol will be the county’s next Solicitor General.

In the school board races, which are now nonpartisan, incumbent Steve Knudsen won District 2. In District 4, Dr. Adrienne Simmons is headed into a runoff against either Dr. Alexis Williams or Kelly Kautz. Williams leads Kautz by 114 votes. Votes have not yet been certified.

The runoff election will be held on Tuesday, June 21.

To learn more about elections in Gwinnett, including a list of candidates running in federal, state, and local elections impacting Gwinnett, visit https://www.gwinnettchamber.org/2022-primary-elections/. To learn more about Gwinnett Chamber’s public policy initiatives, visit https://www.gwinnettchamber.org/publicpolicy/.

Translate »