Gwinnett Chamber Hosts 2017 STAR Students and Teachers

Nearly 60 students and teachers were honored at the annual STAR Student and Teacher Luncheon Monday, February 27. Hosted by the Gwinnett Chamber and presented by Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta, the event celebrates all local school STAR students from each Gwinnett County high school (public and private), as well as the top student from Buford High (Buford City Schools).

“Education is the foundation of success for every community and a key part of every student’s preparation for life. We are thrilled with the remarkable level of achievement these STAR students have earned through hard work and dedication, along with the talent and support of their inspiring teachers,” said Dr. Dan Kaufman, President & CEO of the Gwinnett Chamber. “These students should be very proud of their significant accomplishments as they prepare themselves to be leaders in the decades ahead.”

Each STAR student is the senior in the top 10 percent of his or her class with the highest SAT score. As part of the recognition, each STAR student selects a teacher as the educator who has had a strong influence on his/her academic career.

The STAR students will move on to the region competition where they and their STAR teachers will be recognized and vie for the regional title. Regional winners will then compete for the honor of being named Georgia’s 2017 STAR Student and Teacher.  

2017 STAR Students and Teachers

Sabarish Sainathan, Gwinnett School of Math, Science & Technology (System Winner* – Tie)
Mr. Greg Field

Eric Yan, Peachtree Ridge High School (System Winner* – Tie)
Mr. Gabriel Pak

Hannah Mahaffey, Archer High School
Mr. John Jameson

Diane Lin, Berkmar High School
Mr. Christopher Pae

Karl Patram, Brookwood High School
Mr. David Dimsdale

Qasim Hassan, Central Gwinnett High School
Ms. Lindsay Bates

Douglas Court, Collins Hill High School
Mr. Ryan Keefer

Caleb Godwin, Covenant Christian Academy
Mr. Brandon Buchanan

Paul Dittamo, Dacula High School
Mr. Matthew Ludewig

Brandon McCoy, Discovery High School
Mr. Jonathan Larese

Margeaux Ratcliff, Duluth High School
Mr. James (Jim) Reason

William Taylor, Grayson High School
Mr. Jeremy Mulkey

Mason English, Greater Atlanta Christian School
Mr. Derek Wilson

Katherine Reynolds, Hebron Christian Academy
Mr. Shomari Young

Ke jia Zhang, Killian Hill Christian School
Mr. John Allan

Ashley Park, Lanier High School
Mr. Collin Jones

Aijon Pineda, Meadowcreek High School
Mrs. Pintu Thaker

Bryan Endsley, Mill Creek High School
Mrs. Aylen Parra

McKade Stewart, Mountain View High School
Mr. Billy Jones

Jennifer Wang, Norcross High School
Mrs. Michelle Larate

Jonathan Park, North Gwinnett High School
Mr. Jeremy Martin

Mohammad Makhmudov, Parkview High School
Ms. Caroline Miklosovic

Joshua Randrup, Providence Christian Academy
Mr. Randall Cailor

Mehul Mehra, Shiloh High School
Mr. Vincent Tran

Isabelle Williams, South Gwinnett High School
Ms. Meryl Weaver

Angela Yang, Wesleyan School
Mrs. Deborah Brown

Hee Joo Choi, Buford High School *
Mrs. Amy Lister

* The STAR System winners will join a select group of students statewide who have scored the highest in their school system on the SAT

Submit Your Photo Request

  • View the gallery (left) and note the image number(s) of the photo(s) you'd like to receive. Fill out this form and submit. You will receive high-resolution images within five business days.