Gwinnett Chamber celebrates Gwinnett mayors

Gwinnett Chamber celebrates Gwinnett mayors

After a hiatus in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Mayor’s Dinner resumed with a renewed sense of excitement. Held at the 1818 Club, the event honored mayors in Gwinnett County with a special dinner sponsored by Georgia Power, Jackson EMC and Precision Planning. Each mayor provided updates in their respective cities, from construction and economic development to transportation and safety.

A common praise throughout the evening was the ability of the cities to effectively communicate and work together. When the pandemic swept across the United States last March, the county and cities’ leaders agreed to release a joint ‘stay-at-home’ order and consistent guidance on essential business.

Arguably, no other county in Georgia can match the cohesive partnerships that Gwinnett’s cities have demonstrated throughout the years. Gwinnett is home to sixteen municipalities, more than any other county in Georgia. Last month, Suwanee Mayor Jimmy Burnette and Sugar Hill Mayor Steve Edwards were inducted into the Georgia Municipal Association’s Georgia Municipal Government Hall of Fame.

Pictured above (L to R): Front row: Mayor Allison Wilkerson, Grayson; Mayor Lois Salter, Berkeley Lake; Mayor Linda Blechinger, Auburn; Mayor Nancy Harris, Duluth; Back row: Randy Meacham, Managing Director at Gwinnett Municipal Association; Mayor Jimmy Burnette, Suwanee; Mayor Mike Mason, Peachtree Corners; Mayor Trey King, Dacula; Mayor Craig Newton, Norcross; Mayor David Still, Lawrenceville; and Mayor Steve Edwards, Sugar Hill

Translate »